student using university calendar

Important term dates

Including the dates of teaching blocks, Christmas and Easter breaks, consolidation weeks, and graduation ceremonies

Academic year 2019/20

Teaching block 2 (current)

Monday 20 January 2020 to Friday 8 May 2020

Teaching block 2 Consolidation Week

Monday 2 March 2020 to Friday 6 March 2020

Easter Break

Monday 30 March 2020 to Friday 17 April 2020

Assessment Period

Monday 11 May 2020 to Friday 19 June 2020

(Within this period the formal examination weeks run from Monday 11 May 2020 to Friday 5 June 2020)

Referral/Deferral Period

Monday 20 July 2020 to Friday 7 August 2020

Faculty of Business and Law

Monday 13 July 2020 to Friday 31 July 2020

Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries

Monday 20 July 2020 to Friday 7 August 2020

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Monday 13 July 2020 to Friday 31 July 2020

Faculty of Technology

Monday 20 July 2020 to Friday 7 August 2020

Graduation Weeks

In light of coronavirus and current Government advice, we've taken the difficult decision to postpone graduation ceremonies due to take place in July.

Please find further information on our graduation page.

Explore the University

Whether you're thinking of joining us, already studying here, or you're a parent or guardian with a child on their way to Portsmouth, there's plenty to discover.

Academic year 2020/21

Teaching block 1

Monday 5 October 2020 to Friday 22 January 2021

Teaching block 1 (for programmes starting February 2021)

Monday 1 February 2021 to Friday 14 May 2021

Consolidation Week

Monday 9 November 2020 to Friday 13 November 2020

Christmas Break

Monday 14 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021

Assessment period and Directed Activity

Monday 25 January 2021 to Friday 5 February 2021

Teaching block 2 (for programmes starting October 2020)

Monday 8 February 2021 to Friday 14 May 2021

Consolidation Week

Monday 29 March 2021 to Friday 2 April 2021

Easter Break

Monday 5 April 2021 to Friday 16 April 2021

Assessment Period

Monday 17 May 2021 to Friday 18 June 2021

(Within this period, the formal examination weeks run from Monday 17 May 2021 to Friday 11 June 2021)

Referral/Deferral Period

Monday 5 July 2021 to Friday 23 July 2021

Graduation Ceremony Weeks

For information about graduation dates, please see our graduation page.

This site uses cookies. Click here to view our cookie policy message.

Accept and close